WhatsApp tried again to explain the new privacy policy, and here is what will happen after May 15 to those who do not accept it

WhatsApp is on your website once again tried to explain what will happen to users who do not accept his a new privacy policy announced by the company last month leaving users the “choice” to either accept the new terms or stop using the app.

From May 15, the functionality of the application will be limited for those who do not agree with the new conditions. These users will no longer be able to send or read messages from the app but will still be able to receive calls and notifications. However, this will only be possible for a short time. The company explained that this period will last for several weeks.

The new privacy policy is controversial for many users who are concerned that it allows WhatsApp to share their private messages and contacts with parent company Facebook. However, WhatsApp user messages are protected by end-to-end encryption, so only those to whom they are sent can see their content. What the new privacy policy applies to are messages sent to companies, which can be stored on Facebook’s servers and that information can be used for advertising.

WhatsApp will not share the user’s contacts or conversations with Facebook, but will be able to share the user’s profile information with Facebook after the user communicates with the company in WhatsApp. That communication could happen in a number of ways, and Facebook opens up more opportunities for communication between users and businesses that advertise their products and services on WhatsApp. If users interact with the offer in WhatsApp, their data is shared with Facebook and the advertiser. That communication can also affect the ads that the same user sees on Facebook.

It should also be reminded that since 2016, WhatsApp has been sharing some personal data of users with Facebook, such as phone numbers.

In response to customer dissatisfaction, WhatsApp has postponed the implementation of the new privacy policy, which was originally supposed to take effect on February 8.

Last week, WhatsApp announced its new plan to explain the new privacy policy to its users with a banner in the app that offers an explanation of the new policy. WhatsApp says it has updated the FAQ page to “try to resolve users’ concerns”. “Eventually we will start reminding people to review and accept these changes to continue using WhatsApp,” the company said on the blog.

WhatsApp says it will not delete any account that did not accept the new terms on May 15 and that users will still be able to accept the new privacy policy after that date. However, the company warns that accounts are usually deleted after being inactive for 120 days.



Source: Informacija.rs by www.informacija.rs.

*The article has been translated based on the content of Informacija.rs by www.informacija.rs. If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!