WEC: Conway, Kobayashi and Lopez are world champions

The day before, Bahrain hosted an 8-hour race that crowned the season at the WEC, and few were surprised that it ended with another victorious double of the Toyota Gazoo Racing team, performing in the new Hypercar class on the GR010 Hybrid sports prototypes.

The riders of the factory team of the Japanese concern dominated from the very beginning of the season, winning all six stages. “8 hours of Bahrain” was won by crew # 8 consisting of Sebastien Buemi, Brandon Hartley and Kazuki Nakajima, but the title went to their teammates – Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and Jose-Maria Lopez, who were driving car # 7. It was enough for this trio to take second place to secure the title.

For Conway companions this is the second championship title in a row, but the first in the Le Mans Hypercar class.

“The two-time champions and winners of the 24 Hours of Le Mans – the season has really turned out well,” commented Conway after the finish. – Also congratulations to our crew # 8, who fiercely fought with us throughout the championship! “

It seems that he and his teammates were not at all offended that their colleagues won the race, because this allowed Kazuki Nakajima to end his career in the WEC with a victory, which is also symbolic in its own way.

But it is curious that from the start it was not the Toyota hypercars that were leading, but the sports prototype of the Alpine team. Nicolas Lapierre took the first position already in the 1st turn, and for some time it seemed that crew # 36 would be able to fight for the victory. But then technical problems with the gearbox began, requiring repairs, which took a long time, and as a result, the French trio of Lapierre, André Negrao and Mathieu Vaxivier was content with 3rd place, losing to the leaders six laps.

In the traditional LMP2 class, the first place in the race was taken by the Team WRT team consisting of Robert Frejns, Ferdinand Habsburg and Charles Milesi. In this category, almost all teams performed on the Oreca 07 sports prototypes.

The LMGTE Pro category was won by AF Corse drivers James Calado and Alessandro Pierre-Luigi in the Ferrari 488 GTE Evio, while their teammates François Peraudot, Alessio Rovera and Niklas Nielsen won the LMGTE Am.

The next season will begin on March 12-13 with a prologue, which will be held in Sebring, and a week later at the same circuit in the US state of Florida, the 1000-mile race will start, which will be the first stage of the WEC in 2022.

Source: Формула 1 на F1News.ru by www.f1news.ru.

*The article has been translated based on the content of Формула 1 на F1News.ru by www.f1news.ru. If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!