Ubisoft removed his account that he did not use and lost his digitally purchased games. How did it come about?

The discussion about digital purchases continues. Many users do not believe that this makes any sense – and on average, they are not interested in buying a license. Why? The same argument over and over again: because as long as content can’t download and back it up on their own with DRM protections, they know that content is not and will never belong to them. And stories like that of a Norwegian player named Tor will probably only reassure them of that.

The user has not logged in to his account for several months. Ubisoft deleted his account – and lost access to the games

The story that the victim told PCWorld sounds unbelievable. But since digital goods have a lot of controversy and regulations and rules are constantly changing, well – it’s not so abstract that it can’t be true. Tor, wanting to pause, sold its computer in 2020. After several months, he wanted to return to the games he had collected, but then, while trying to log in to Ubisoft Connect, he discovered that his account did not exist. It just closed.

After resetting the password, the user discovered that the games he had paid hundreds of dollars for were gone. Along the way, he received one e-mail from Ubisoft, which additionally ended up in spam. After contacting the publisher, Tor learned that it was not possible to recover a deleted account (and thus: also games that were assigned to it). A company representative in an interview with the aggrieved party said that it was all due to … GDPR. More precisely, the interpretation of article 5.1 e, which says:

kept in a form which permits identification of the data subject for no longer than is necessary for the purposes for which the data are processed; personal data may be stored for a longer period as long as they are processed solely for archiving purposes in the public interest, for scientific or historical research purposes or for statistical purposes pursuant to Art. 89 paragraph. 1, subject to the implementation of the appropriate technical and organizational measures required by this Regulation to protect the rights and freedoms of data subjects (“storage limitation”) (source)

Interestingly – these rules contradict the terms of service of Ubisoft itself, whose representatives in an interview with the PCWorld editorial staff said that they can actually send such a notification and delete the account after six months of inactivity, but this does not apply to those on which the games were purchased. Most often, it sends three alerts, and it has not happened before that accounts for which someone has not logged in for less than four years have been deleted. Ubisoft representatives are to contact the aggrieved party to clarify the situation.

I believe that the whole story here will end well and everything that happened was just one big mistake. But it’s these situations that make people’s confidence in digital purchases… what it is.

Source

Graphics: Deposit Photos


Source: AntyWeb by antyweb.pl.

*The article has been translated based on the content of AntyWeb by antyweb.pl. If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!