If you delete files on a Windows system, they are not immediately discarded, but moved to the trash. Only when it is manually emptied is the information permanently gone, until then it is easy to retrieve. This does mean that all files in the recycle bin will continue to take up storage space as long as it is not emptied. With Windows 11 it is possible to do this automatically, so that you can no longer forget this. Incidentally, the function has also been found in Windows 10 for a while.
This can be done using a tool called Storage Sense which can be found in the storage settings. If you enable this, it defaults to the option to only run the program if there is little free storage space available. In addition, you can opt for a run every day, week or month.
Below that are the options for which files will be deleted and when. By default, the recycle bin is set to a maximum age of 30 days and the downloads folder is never emptied automatically. Both can be set to never empty, or to delete files that are 1 day, 2 weeks, a month or two months old.
If you suffer from acute lack of space, there is also a button at the bottom to run Storage Sense directly according to the entered parameters.
Incidentally, the tool can ook be used if you find that files synced with OneDrive are taking up too much space on your PC. If you do not open a document for longer than a time that you can set, it will be removed from your disk and can only be viewed with an internet connection.
4 discussed products
Compare all products
Source: Hardware Info Compleet by nl.hardware.info.
*The article has been translated based on the content of Hardware Info Compleet by nl.hardware.info. If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!
*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.
*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!