Travel bubble travelers must undergo ‘corona test’ in both countries

A ‘travel bubble’ that allows general tourism between countries trusted in quarantine is being promoted in earnest. People who have been vaccinated against COVID-19 will be allowed to travel as a group to some countries from July.

However, those who have been vaccinated must also be tested for COVID-19 before leaving the country and after arriving in the country.

Transitional and limited overseas travel is permitted before herd immunity is established. The Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism and the Ministry of Land, Infrastructure and Transport announced that they plan to promote a travel bubble for group tours to countries with trust in quarantine as a way to restore exchanges. The goal is to make international travel for general travel possible by exempting quarantine between countries trusted in quarantine.

The travel bubble is general tourism without isolation between countries that have secured mutual trust in quarantine management. In order to be exempt from quarantine, an immunization certificate must be issued before departure and a negative confirmation letter must be obtained through PCR test within 3 days of departure. After arriving in the country, the vaccination certificate must be confirmed and negative confirmation through the Corona 19 test again.

The Central Disaster and Safety Countermeasures Headquarters said about the travel bubble, “It will be the first step toward the recovery of the international tourism and aviation market by resolving the inconvenience of the people and difficulties in the tourism and aviation industry that are aggravated by the prolonged restrictions on overseas travel.”

At the beginning of the travel bubble, only group tours for those who have completed vaccination are allowed. The number of flights operated and the size of entry are limited to a certain size through agreement with the other country. In addition, travelers can only use direct flights between Korea and other countries.

Travel agencies operating group tours must designate a quarantine manager to educate tourists and check whether they comply with quarantine guidelines, and periodically check and report body temperature and symptoms.

The partner countries for the travel bubble agreement will be Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Guam and Saipan, where the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism and the Ministry of Land, Infrastructure and Transport have been seeking to promote the travel bubble.

Previously, Australia, New Zealand, Taiwan and Palau implemented travel bubbles to ease quarantines for general travelers. It is currently temporarily suspended due to the spread of COVID-19. Singapore and Hong Kong are currently reviewing a launch date.

By Moon Se-young, staff reporter [email protected]

Copyrightⓒ ‘Honest knowledge for health’ ( / Unauthorized reproduction-redistribution prohibited

Source: 코메디닷컴 by

*The article has been translated based on the content of 코메디닷컴 by If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!