the tutorial in 3 easy steps

Are you tired of being constantly on the lookout for the slightest notification from the Instagram social network? Here is how to delete your Instagram account with the easiest and fastest procedure.

While Facebook has long reigned supreme, new platforms like Instagram, TikTok, or Snapchat have appeared in our daily lives. These tools, although useful for finding friends or watching an influencer’s story, can be more or less toxic depending on the user profile.

Indeed, some people unexpectedly fall into a spiral that can have consequences on physical and mental health. It is therefore necessary to know how to say “stop” at the right moment so as not to tip over. If Facebook is still highly criticized, Instagram is almost as much. Both social networks belong to the same group, Meta.

Deleting Instagram is a procedure that is possible and that thousands of people do every day. It is also possible to suspend the account temporarily if you do not want to completely disappear from the social network. Below we are going to tell you how to delete your Instagram account with an easy method. The first thing to know is that you will only be able to delete your presence through a web browser. The mobile application does not allow you to delete your profile.

How to delete an Instagram account?

In order to remove all traces of your life on Instagram, you will need to follow the steps below. As we said, deleting Instagram is only possible from a web browser. This means that you will have to connect to it from a computer or via a mobile (via a browser like Chrome or Safari). However, you cannot delete your account from the application. Yet it is she who is at the heart of use.

The first step is to use your social network login credentials to log in to the website. To do this, use your username and password. Those in a hurry can simply connect using the “Connect with Facebook” button provided that your Facebook account is itself linked to your Instagram account.

Credit: Geek Journal

For the second step to delete your Instagram account, type this URL: https://www.instagram.com/accounts/remove/request/permanent/. This will take you to the page where you can make your account deletion request. During this step, you will have to explain not only the main reason for your choice, namely:

  • A privacy issue on the platform;
  • You are unable to fully use the platform;
  • You want to remove something (a comment, a post, etc.);
  • A lack of time to use the social network;
  • You lack real accounts to follow;
  • You have created a second account and therefore wish to delete the first one;
  • The social network is flooded with advertising.

When you have selected the reason why you want to delete your Instagram account, solutions will be offered to you below – always according to the reason with the aim of keeping you on Instagram as much as possible. The social network wants to learn from its mistakes, even if it doesn’t always seem to be very open to suggestions.

Delete Instagram account 2
Credit: Geek Journal

If you’re hoping to give the Instagram social network – and therefore Meta – a second chance, you just have to follow the advice offered. However, if you do not want to procrastinate, you will just have to enter your password in the box provided for this purpose and click on the “Delete Your account name” button.

Delete Instagram account 2
Credit: Geek Journal

Delete or temporarily disable an account?

Deleting an Instagram account can have serious consequences, especially if you already have a large number of subscribers. This is why before potentially making a regrettable gesture, the social network Instagram also allows the user to cut off, to suspend an account temporarily in order to take a step back.

Moreover, here are the various steps to take to temporarily deactivate your Instagram account. This allows you not to delete all content: they will be invisible to everyone, but you can still access them. It is also a security since it allows you to keep your nickname. We remind you that when you have deleted Instagram, it is possible that someone will then take your nickname.

To come to the procedure, like to delete your account, you will need to authenticate yourself. To do this, you will only have to do so using your login details or by clicking on the “Connect with Facebook” button.

Thereafter, you will need to head to your profile picture at the top right and then click on “Settings”. In the different tabs on the left, only “Edit your profile” will interest us.

As soon as you have the possibility to modify your profile, a hyperlink at the bottom right of the page will allow you to redirect you to the page dedicated to deactivating your account. As with deletion, you’ll need to fill in the reason why you want to pause your Instagram account — and these are the same as deleting the account.

Finally, all you have to do is enter your account password and click on the “Temporarily deactivate my account” button. Again, you will not permanently delete your account: it will allow you to return to it. This is a good solution to not see all the content that you have published on the social network disappear.

How long does it take to delete an Instagram account?

If you permanently delete Instagram, you have 30 days to change your mind and recover your data. If you do nothing within this time, all content will be permanently deleted from the platform. It will then never be possible to find them again. This decision should not be made on a whim.

If you’ve decided to temporarily suspend your Instagram account, you can reactivate it whenever you want. The social network allows you to become visible again at any time. It’s a much less risky decision than deleting an account. If you want to cut a few months off Instagram, this is the solution we recommend. And above all, this allows you not to put your nickname at risk.

Deletion FAQs

Are you on the verge of deleting your Instagram account but you still have a little doubt? Below, we have made the detail with a precise FQA which will allow you to know how to eradicate his account and his profile. Think carefully before doing so, you may lose all the information and you may regret it. We advise you in any case to make a backup of all the content to find it if necessary in the future.

Can Instagram be deleted on mobile?

It will not be possible to delete your account from the Instagram mobile app. You will have to go through the website. Deleting the application from your mobile will not be enough to delete the contents of your account.

Is it difficult to delete your account?

Yes and no. Of course, you will have to go to the Instagram website to delete your account, but the procedure is simple. You just need to have the social network login credentials.

Is deleting Instagram permanent?

Once you’ve officially deleted Instagram, you have 30 days to change your mind. Beyond this limit, it will no longer be possible to find his information.

How to erase Instagram on iOS and Android?

To delete your Instagram account on iOS or Android, you will have to go through the Instagram website. The application does not allow to directly delete its data and profile.

Instagram
Instagram

Par : Instagram, Inc.


Source: Journal du Geek by www.journaldugeek.com.

*The article has been translated based on the content of Journal du Geek by www.journaldugeek.com. If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!