the transition to the new digital terrestrial is slipped

New dates for the new digital terrestrial

Postponed, albeit slightly (for now), the passage, divided into more step, to the new digital technology.

Slides the passage of the encoding of the channels from Mpeg2 to Mpeg4 al November 15, previously set for 1 September 2021.

The date of the switch-off , originally scheduled for 2022, is now postponed to 2023.

This postponement was decided during a meeting, held on July 27, following which the Ministry of Economic Development (MISE) presented a new document containing the Establishment of a national calendar identifying the deadlines of the roadmap for the implementation of the objectives of Decision (EU) 2017/899.

The document essentially rewrites the dates and the conclusion of the transition to the new second generation digital terrestrial.

The motivation behind this decision is essentially due to the situation due to the Covid 19 pandemic which inevitably slowed down the transition process.

Therefore, you will have more time to equip yourself with new equipment (televisions and decoders) capable of perceiving the new DVB T2 frequencies HEVC, that is, High Efficiency Video Coding, which will allow you to enjoy digital content with a higher video quality, even ultra-definition 8k.

The gradual transition has been confirmed, in several stages, for the various Regions divided into Areas.

The calendar for the transition to the new digital terrestrial has been rewritten

Sketched the new timetable for the transition to the new technology which, barring further and possible future extensions, due to the worsening of the pandemic situation, provides for new dates and the subdivision into four macro geographical areas.

The first Italian region affected by the transition will be Sardinia (Area A1) from November 15, 2021 to November 18, 2021.

From 3 January 2022 to 15 March 2022 it will be the turn of the’Area 2 consisting of Valle d’Aosta, Piedmont, Lombardy, except the province of Mantua, the province of Piacenza, the province of Trento, the province of Bolzano and theArea 3 which includes Veneto, the province of Mantua, Friuli Venezia Giulia, Emilia Romagna, except the province of Piacenza.

From 1 March to 15 May 2022 it will be the turn ofArea 4, that is Sicily, Calabria, Puglia, Basilicata, Abruzzo, Molise, Marche

Will close’Area 1B i.e. Liguria, Tuscany, Umbria, Lazio, Campania from 1 May to 30 June 2022.

As noted, the activation of the DVBT-2 standard at national level will be arranged starting from January 1, 2023, a longer period being necessary for the full implementation of the new standard.

Source: by

*The article has been translated based on the content of by If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!