Spain opens borders to countries outside the EU … with Morocco and China in focus

July 4th, key date. Spain will open its external borders this Saturday to a total of 12 countries outside the European Union, while China, Morocco and Algeria, despite appearing on the list, are subject to the principle of reciprocity. According to an order signed and published in the BOE by the Minister of the Interior, Fernando Grande-Marlaska, The initial list is made up of 15 countries, including Algeria, Australia, Canada, China, South Korea, Georgia, Japan, Morocco, Montenegro, New Zealand, Rwanda, Thailand, Tunisia, Serbia and Uruguay.

In this line, and despite appearing in the list, the order explains that in the case of China, on the one hand, the recommendation of the Council of the European Union making the opening of the borders of the Member States of the Union subject to confirmation of the existence of such a reciprocity regime. In the case of Algeria and Morocco, the need to take into account both the current border closure in force in both countries, as well as the reasons behind it, and the considerable usual volume of travel between each of them and Spain.

Arancha González Laya

In fact, although Spain opens its borders to the aforementioned countries, only four of the 15 non-EU countries with which the Twenty-seven have decided to reopen their border, they currently allow the entry of Spanish travelers and, in fact, most have their borders totally closed to foreigners.

Only four of the 15 countries allow Spaniards to enter

Is about Serbia, Montenegro, Tunisia and South Korea. In the latter case, a 14-day quarantine is mandatory for both Koreans and foreigners, as stated in the travel recommendations prepared by the Spanish Foreign Ministry for the different countries. The order published in the BOE by the Ministry of the Interior, and collected by Europa Press, also recalls the exceptions for the crossing of people through the community territory, including students who are studying in the Schengen Member or Associated States and who have the corresponding permit or visa.

Likewise, the transit of highly qualified workers is allowed whose work is necessary and cannot be postponed or performed remotely. Yes, these circumstances must be documentary justified. In parallel, categories of travelers that are exempt from the restrictions are included, regardless of their place of origin, such as residents heading to their place of residence, holders of a long-term visa issued by a targeted member country and cross-border workers.

In addition, the health professionals, including health researchers, and senior care professionals that the personnel dedicated to the transport of merchandise, the military, diplomatic or consular personnel go to or return from exercising their work activity. Likewise, displacement to members of humanitarian organizations, and those people who prove causes of force majeure or a situation of need or whose entry is allowed for humanitarian reasons, and people who travel by duly accredited imperative family reasons.

Exceptions to allow transit

In this sense, people registered as residents who go directly to their place of residence in another member state, Schengen, are allowed to enter Spain, among others. Andorra, Monaco, The Vatican, San Marino or to the spouse of a Spanish citizen or partner with whom he maintains a union analogous to that of the spouse registered in a public registry, and those ascendants and descendants who live in his charge, whenever they travel with or to meet with him.

All of the above will not be applicable at the land border with Andorra nor at the checkpoint of people with the territory of Gibraltar. On the other hand, the order also establishes that the closure, on a temporary basis, of the land posts enabled for entry and exit from Spain through the cities of Ceuta and Melilla.