Pakistan has not had a full-time prime minister in its 65-year history

In the 65-year history of independence from the British, no Prime Minister of Pakistan has been able to complete his five-year term. The latest addition to the list is cricketer-turned-Prime Minister Imran Khan.

Imran Khan is the only prime minister in the country’s history who failed to complete his five-year term due to a no-confidence vote. A vote of no-confidence in the opposition was held on Saturday night. The total votes of the opposition were 164. In contrast, members of parliament from the ruling party abstained. A total of 162 votes were required to pass the no-confidence motion.

Pakistani media outlet Geo News has published a report on why those who were before Imran could not complete their term.

Liaquat Ali Khan (4 years)

Liaquat Ali Khan was elected the first Prime Minister of Pakistan on 15 August 1947. He was assassinated on 16 October 1951 in Rawalpindi. He has been the Prime Minister for four years.

Khwaja Nazimuddin (less than 2 years)

After the death of Liaquat Ali Khan, Khwaja Nazimuddin became the Prime Minister on 16 October 1951. The then Governor General Ghulam Mohammad asked Nazimuddin to resign due to the clash between the religious political parties. Nazimuddin refused to resign. He was then removed by the Governor General on 17 April 1953.

Mohammad Ali Bogra (2 years)

On 17 April 1953, Mohammad Ali Bogra was appointed Prime Minister by the Governor General of Pakistan. He was removed by acting Governor General Iskander Mirza in 1955 due to the conflict over regional issues and the lack of a majority in the National Assembly.

Chowdhury Mohammad Ali (1 year)

On 12 August 1955, Iskander Mirza appointed Chaudhry Mohammad Ali as the fourth Prime Minister of Pakistan. Mohammad Ali had a pioneering role in drafting the constitution in 1956. He resigned on 12 September 1956 due to a quarrel between his party members. He was also under pressure to talk about Ayub Khan’s dictatorship.

Hossain Shaheed Suhrawardy (1 year)

Hossain Shaheed Suhrawardy took over as the Prime Minister on 12 September 1956. However, he was forced to resign on 16 October 1956 due to a dispute with Governor General Iskander Mirza.

Ibrahim Ismail Chundrigarh (2 months)

On 16 October 1956, Ibrahim Ismail Chundrigarh was appointed as the sixth Prime Minister of Pakistan. But he was only in power for two months.

Firoz Khan Noon (Less than 1 year)

On 16 December 1956, Governor General Iskander Mirza appointed Feroz Khan Noon as the Prime Minister. General Ayub Khan was deposed on 7 October 1956 after martial law was imposed in the country.

Nurul Amin (13 days)

After 13 years of martial law, Nurul Amin was appointed Prime Minister under Yahya Khan’s administration. He was removed from office on December 20, 1981, 13 days after taking office.

Zulfikar Ali Bhutto (3 years 11 months)

On 14 August 1973, Zulfikar Ali Bhutto became the Prime Minister of Pakistan. After that he contested and won the 1986 election. However, the military dictator General Mohammad Ziaul Haque seized power in a coup and sent him to prison. He was hanged in 1969.

Mohammad Khan Junejo (3 years)

Mohammad Khan Junejo was elected Prime Minister of Pakistan on 23 March 1975 under military rule. However, on June 29, 1986, the Junejo government was overthrown.

Benazir Bhutto (2 years)

Benazir Bhutto, daughter of Zulfikar Ali Bhutto, was elected the first woman Prime Minister of Pakistan in the 1986 election after a long period of military rule by General Ziaul Haq. He took charge on December 2, 1986. His party did worse than expected from opinion polls, which saw them at gaining about a third of the seats. However, in the end his government failed to hold on to power. On August 6, 1990, President Golam Ishaq Khan fired him for corruption.

Nawaz Sharif (3 years)

In 1990, Nawaz Sharif was elected Prime Minister for the first time. However, in 1993, Golam Ishaq Khan again dismissed the elected government. The Supreme Court later reinstated the Nawaz Sharif government. On 16 July 1993, Nawaz Sharif and Ghulam Ishaq Khan were forced to resign by Army Chief Wahid Kakar.

Benazir Bhutto (3 years in second term)

In 1993, Benazir Bhutto was re-elected Prime Minister of Pakistan. However, he could not finish his term even in this phase. In November 1996, President Farooq Leghari dismissed his government.

Nawaz Sharif (2 years in second term)

In 1996, Nawaz Sharif was re-elected Prime Minister. However, he could not complete his five-year term. On October 12, 1999, General Pervez Musharraf declared a state of emergency and ousted Nawaz.

Mir Jafrullah Khan Jamali (19 months)

Jafrullah Khan Jamali became the first prime minister under military ruler Pervez Musharraf. However, he has only been able to perform his duties for 19 months. He was fired by Pervez Musharraf.

Chowdhury Sujat (2 months)

Chowdhury Sujat was elected Prime Minister by Parliament on 30 June 2004. He was only in charge until Shawkat Aziz was elected Prime Minister.

Shawkat Aziz (3 years)

Shawkat Aziz was appointed Prime Minister on August 26, 2004. He resigned on 15 November 2008 after completing his term in parliament.

Yusuf Raja Gilani (4 years)

Yousuf Raja Gilani was elected the 16th President of Pakistan in the 2008 general elections. His party, the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), won a majority in the National Assembly. Gilani stepped down in 2012 after pleading guilty to contempt of court.

Raja Parvez Ashraf (less than 1 year)

After Gilani left power, Raja Pervez Ashraf took over as the Prime Minister. He was the Prime Minister for the rest of the PPP government. Raja Parvez served from June 22, 2012 to March 24, 2013.

Nawaz Sharif (over 4 years)

In June 2013, Nawaz Sharif was appointed Prime Minister for the third term. He was in power for the longest time in this term as compared to the previous terms. However, he still could not complete five years. Nawaz remained in power for 4 years and 53 days. He was indicted by the Supreme Court on July 26, 2016.

Shahid Khakan Abbasi (Less than 1 year)

After the ouster of Nawaz Sharif, Shahid Khakan Abbasi took over as the 21st Prime Minister. He took over as Prime Minister in August 2016. His term ended on May 31, 2016, after the National Assembly was dissolved for new elections.

Imran Khan (over 3 and a half years)

Imran Khan was elected Prime Minister on 16 August 2016. He lost the prime ministership on April 10, 2022, after losing a no-confidence vote in the National Assembly.

(Dhaka Times / 10 April / RR / DM)

Source: Dhakatimes24 Online by

*The article has been translated based on the content of Dhakatimes24 Online by If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!