------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PAINFUL LOVE, Elena Ferante: A powerful and exciting novel about the search for the truth about the mother through a maze of emotions and memories

“Ferante brings a brutally honest story about the dangerous encounter of anger and desire and the result of that collision.”
— Booklist

Painful love is the first novel by Elena Ferrante, the one that brought her fame in Italy and announced the arrival of one of the greatest writers of our time.


“A powerful and exciting novel.”
— Library journal

After the untimely death of her mother, Delia embarks on an exciting odyssey through the chaotic and stuffy streets of her native Naples in search of the truth about her family.

Reality is buried in the fertile ground of memory, so Delia digs deep to find out about the mysterious events that led to her mother’s death.

Encouraged by a series of anonymous phone calls, Delia reconstructs her mother’s last days, and each new discovery forces her to face the possibility that she was not the person Delia thought she was.

In order to discover the truth and unravel the knot of lies, passions and memories that bind her to her mother, Delia will have to return to her roots and her childhood in Naples.

“Disagreement with Ferrante stems from our inability to face the power and themes of her work.”
— Los Angeles Review of Books

It is not possible to say exactly who Elena Ferrante is, a person who is considered by literary critics from all over the world to be the most important contemporary Italian writer. Elena Ferrante is, and this is the only reliable one, the author of the books she signs.

Whether it is about a writer, a writer or a group of authors, it is difficult to say, since the identity is hidden. That is why the publisher offers little about the author: that she was born in 1943 in Naples and that she is a mother. Everything else is just assumptions drawn from her work.

In rare e-mail interviews, Elena Ferrante talks about self-preservation and the absence of a desire to indulge in journalistic games because they lead writers to behave the way readers expect them to.

She has published several novels, among which are Days of abandonment i Dark daughter, and then a four-volume cycle Neapolitan novels which brought her great world fame. The first volume of the cycle, The brilliant friend (My genius friend), published in 2011; a year later another, History of the new surname (The story of a new surname); 2013, third part, History of those who flee and those who remain (The story of those who leave and those who stay) and finally, 2014, Story of the lost child (The story of a lost girl).

Her latest novel The lying life of adults was released in 2019 in Italy, and had its world premiere on September 1, 2020.

In 2016, Time magazine ranked Elena Ferrante among the 100 most influential people in the world.

Source: Sito&Rešeto by www.sitoireseto.com.

*The article has been translated based on the content of Sito&Rešeto by www.sitoireseto.com. If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!