Origin of the Museum: 20 years of Origin of Symmetry

High school friends from coastal Tinmut in the UK, a band Muse, used their intense tour after the debut of “Showbiz” to translate the misfortunes induced by the journey into a new studio recording. The turn towards a darker, more relaxed and unfiltered relationship with music gave birth to the first singles, recorded live in just a few days. These raw versions of the song “Plug in Baby“, “Bliss“, “New Born” i “Darkshines“, The origin of which was stimulated by hallucinogens, required remastering after the tour, although they greatly rounded off the idea with which”Origin of Symmetry”Paved the way for music history and numerous (professional and amateur) compilations of the most significant albums.

As the drummer states Dominic Howard, this album is even, still, the band’s favorite studio achievement. Although initially issued June 18, 2001, under labels Mushroom i Taste, this album entered the world market on this day, July 17 of the same year. The American audience waited another four years due to the publishing dispute Mavericka around “unmanly” falsetto vocals Matthew Bellamy, considering them all just not radio.

The focus of the album is on striking and rough guitar riffs and bass lines Chrisa Wolstenholma, full of distortions. However, it is only in combination with the baroque and romantic novelties on the piano and organ and the added classical instrumentations that they unite into a permanent, recognizable musical motif of the band.

For various reasons, the audience can rarely hear some of the songs from this album live – Example of explosive and final “Megalomania“, Recorded on a large church organ, which was unfairly neglected at live performances due to a self-induced technical obstacle. Besides her, and the song “Futurism”, created solely because the Japanese market does not allow releases without exclusive material, with its complicated bass line it greeted the performances at concerts, but it therefore directly influenced the creation of the future song “Hysteria”. On the reissue on the occasion of the twentieth anniversary, “Origin Of Symmetry: XX Anniversary RemiXX”, is included equally (and not as a bonus song), which is the most significant change besides the new album art. None of the material was re-recorded, but the changes are hidden in a cleaner production, emphasizing mostly the background elements blurred by strong distortion.

Feeling Good”(Arrangement by Nina Simone) found itself on the album as another piano track, but in this version it pushed so far to the collective consciousness that in 2003 it ended up as the subject of a lawsuit between the band and Nescafé, which it used in advertising without permission. The experimentation did not bypass the percussion, whose hollow sound in the song “Screenager”Give balafon pumpkins, animal bones and llama hooves, which the band incorporated at the urging of producer John Lecky, revealing Tom Waits’ music to them.

Primarily a space opera in a grunge interpretation, and all that with the addition of gothic and prog rock, he borrows the idea for the title from the book “Hyperspace”, by the theoretical physicist Michi Kaku. Speaking about the concept of supersymmetry, which would be described in the future book “On the Origin of Symmetry”, Matt Bellamy interprets it as a controversy about the ubiquitous balance of the universe, whose discovery may lie behind God himself, whom he personally recognizes in music:

The name comes from a book on the geometry of the universe and its beautiful balance, perfection in ten dimensions. It explains all the mysterious forces around which we have created religions.

Although philosophical and science fiction, the theme of the album often undoubtedly exudes emotional eroticism through a desperate and miserable lyrical subject, whose whining and suffering do not try to force compassion. This valve for a restless adolescent in an adult, this ode to stifled inhibitions and perverted envy remains equally important and close to fans and critics of the British trio’s opus.

If it weren’t for Muse, I think I would be a horrible and violent personSaid Bellamy on one occasion.

List of songs:

  1. New Born
  2. Bliss
  3. Space Dementia
  4. Hyper Music
  5. Plug In Baby
  6. Citizen Erased
  7. Micro Cuts
  8. Screenager
  9. Darkshines
  10. Feeling Good
  11. *Futurism
  12. Megalomania

Source: Balkanrock.com by balkanrock.com.

*The article has been translated based on the content of Balkanrock.com by balkanrock.com. If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!