OFFICIAL: Joan Laporta returns to FC Barcelona after 6 years of Josep Maria Bartomeu! The final results of the election

Joan Laporta is the new president of FC Barcelona. The former boss of the Catalan club between 2003 and 2010 overwhelmingly won the election before Víctor Font and Toni Freixa.

With 55,611 votes, gathered in the second largest turnout in history in these elections, except for those of 2010 (57,088 votes), Laporta obtained 34,184 votes (54.28%), surpassing Font by 16,679 votes (29.99 %) and Freixa with 4,769 votes (8.58%).

After announcing that he was running for office six years after losing in front of Josep Maria Bartomeu (25,823 votes to 15,615), with the devastating effect of losing the title, Laporta will take office later this week or early next week.

Joan Laporta returns to FC Barcelona after 6 years of Josep Maria Bartomeu! The final results of the election

Then a mandate will begin that will end on June 30, 2026.

Laporta’s victory symbolizes the change demanded at the polls by the partner, who no longer wanted Josep Maria Bartomeu.

He resigned on October 27, 2020 after more than 20,000 fans signed in favor of a no-confidence vote.

The elections, originally scheduled for January 24 and postponed due to the return of the third wave of the pandemic, meant a massive turnout. The organization of the election, with employees from various fields, was impeccable in a context of difficulty by voting in six locations for the first time in history.

The uniqueness of the club has once again made the rounds of the world, especially with images such as that of Leo Messi who exercises for the first time the right to vote, as a member of Barça, with his eldest son Thiago.

Complete official results

Joan Laporta 34.184 (54,28%)
Victor Font 16.679 (29,99%)
Toni Freixa 4.769 (8,58%)

No votes 3.628 (6,52%)
Votes in white 351 (0,63%)
Participation 55,611 (50.42% of the 110,290 with the right to vote)

The polling stations opened on Sunday, at 09.00 local time, for the election of the new president of FC Barcelona, ​​at the club’s headquarters at the Camp Nou Stadium, but also in Girona, Tarragona, Tortosa, Lleida and in Andorra.

“It’s time. Election day begins. In the next 12 hours, shareholders will choose the new one of the Barca club, until 2026 ”, the Catalan club announced on its website on Sunday morning.

Source: Prosport by

*The article has been translated based on the content of Prosport by If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!