New measures for people coming to Romania. Who has to go into isolation or quarantine

The National Committee for Emergency Situations (CNSU) has established new measures for the exception from isolation or quarantine upon arrival in Romania. Travelers returning from European countries and the European Economic Area in which the rate of new cases of COVID-19 in the last 14 days, compared to 100,000 inhabitants, less than or equal to Romania, in the similar period, will not be forced to enter in isolation or quarantine, is shown in decision adopted by CNSU.

In addition to these exceptions, the decision also provides that “The National Institute of Public Health establishes the list of member states of the European Union and the European Economic Area for which persons arriving in Romania are exempted from the isolation / quarantine measures it submits for approval. Of the National Committee for Emergency Situations. ”

The list is updated weekly, every Monday, by the National Institute of Public Health, is approved by the National Committee for Emergency Situations and published on the website

The last version of the list of countries whose citizens are exempted from isolation upon entering Romania was adopted on July 29.

The exemption measure applies only to EU and EEA countries. Following consultations at Member State level, the mechanism for including third countries for the exemption measure will be decided.

The 27 EU member states on Tuesday approved leisure or business trips for citizens from 14 countries outside the EU bloc to support the EU tourism industry. These countries are Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

The list adopted is a recommendation and is not an obligation for Member States.