Mobility and economy on the agenda of the CPLP summit in Luanda – Economy

The XIII Conference of CPLP Heads of State and Government, taking place today in Luanda, in which Angola assumes the presidency, will be marked by the signing of the Mobility Agreement and the strengthening of economic relations.

At Angola’s request, this summit of the Community of Portuguese Language Countries (CPLP), which should have taken place in 2020, was postponed to July 2021, due to the pandemic, and the Cape Verdean presidency, now departing, accepted extend his term of two years for one more.

The proposed mobility agreement establishes a “framework for cooperation” between all Member States in a “flexible and variable” way and, in practice, covers any citizen. States are provided with a range of solutions that allow them to assume “commitments arising from mobility in a progressive manner and with different levels of integration”, taking into account their own internal specificities, in their political, social and administrative dimensions.

In this context, they have the “freedom (…) in choosing the mobility modalities, the categories of people covered”, as well as the countries of the community with which they intend to establish partnerships, according to the proposal to which Lusa had access.

The issue of facilitation of circulation has been debated at the CPLP for about two decades, but it received greater impetus with a more concrete proposal presented by Portugal at the summit in Brasilia, in 2016, and became the priority of the rotating presidency of the Cape Verdean organization in the last three years.

Another of the dominant issues will be the strengthening of economic cooperation, which Angola intends to highlight in its presidency, which is now beginning and will have as its motto “Strengthening and Promoting Economic and Business Cooperation in times of pandemic, in favor of sustainable development in the States. members of the CPLP”.

At this summit, it is also expected that the Heads of State and Government will comment on the support to be given to Mozambique to face the situation of violence in the province of Cabo Delgado, as well as on the progress of Equatorial Guinea with regard to the commitments that took over when he became a member of the organization in 2014, namely the abolition of the death penalty.

For now, the presence of the presidents of Portugal, Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa, of Cape Verde, Jorge Carlos Fonseca, of Guinea-Bissau, Umaro Sissoco Embaló, and of São Tomé and Príncipe, Evaristo Carvalho, in addition to the host, João Lourenço, are confirmed. .

Brazil will be represented by the Vice President, Hamilton Mourão, and at the level of Heads of Government, the presence of António Costa (Portugal), Ulisses Correia e Silva (Cape Verde), Nuno Nabiam (Guinea-Bissau), Jorge Bom Jesus is confirmed (São Tomé and Príncipe” and Carlos Agostinho do Rosário (Mozambique).

As for the representation of Equatorial Guinea, only the presence of the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Simeón Oyono Esono Angue, has yet been confirmed.

The opening session of the summit is expected to include speeches by the Angolan and Cape Verdean heads of state, the president of the CPLP Parliamentary Assembly, the Guinean Cipriano Cassamá, the President of Namibia, Hage Gottfried Geinbob, representing the observer countries associated with the organization, and François Lounecény Fall, special representative of the Secretary-General of the United Nations, representing international organizations.

Afterwards, João Lourenço takes office as president ‘pro tempore’ of the CPLP for the biennium 2021-2023, the work agenda is approved and the report of the outgoing executive secretary, Francisco Ribeiro Telles, is presented.

Next, the head of Angolan diplomacy, Téte António, presents Angola’s priorities for the presidency of the organization and the new executive secretary, Zacarias Albano da Costa, former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Timor-Leste, is elected.

After a working lunch with the organization’s leaders, the signing of the Agreement for Mobility is expected by the heads of diplomacy of the nine Member States.

Afterwards, there will be a ceremony for the awarding of the “José Aparecido de Oliveira”, the CPLP award, to the already announced winner of this year, who is the Portuguese President, Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa, and also the inauguration of Zacarias da Costa.

The Conference of Heads of State and Government is the highest organ of the CPLP, which ordinarily meets every two years and which is responsible for defining and guiding the general policy and strategies of the organization.

The CPLP is made up of Angola, Brazil, Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Mozambique, Portugal, São Tomé and Príncipe and Portugal.

Source: Jornal de Negócios by

*The article has been translated based on the content of Jornal de Negócios by If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!