Lewandowski misses penalty as Poland draws 0-0 with Mexico / Diena

Poland came closest to scoring in the match early in the second half when Robert Lewandowski converted a penalty kick but was denied by Guillermo Ocho.

In the 26th minute of the match, after a pass from Hector Herrera, Alexis Vega made a header, the ball just barely missed the goal post. A little later, Wojciech Szczesny saved the Poles from conceding a goal after Jesus Gallardo’s shot.

In the second half, after less than ten minutes, Robert Lewandowski was fouled in the penalty area and a penalty kick was awarded to Mexico’s goal. “Pendeli” was performed by Lewandowski himself, whose direction of the hit ball was remembered by Guillermo Ochoa, the Mexican goalkeeper did not allow the opponent to reach 1:0 in the 58th minute.

Towards the middle of the half, Szczesny once again demonstrated his skill at the other end of the field, neutralizing the ball headed by Henry Martin.

In the second half of the half, the Mexican team brought in striker Raul Jimenez, who got a little game practice this season, but his substitution did not bring the expected result. In stoppage time, in one of the last Mexican attacks, Urjel Antuna chose to take a shot in an episode where Jimenez was in a better position.

Before that, in subgroup C, Saudi Arabia sensationally defeated Argentina 2:1 (0:1).

32 teams are divided into eight groups of four national teams each. The two best teams from each group will enter the round of 16 and continue the fight for football’s most prestigious trophy.

Qatar is the first Arab country to host the FIFA World Cup. So far, one championship has been held in Asia, and it was jointly hosted by South Korea and Japan in 2002.

This is also the first tournament to be held in late autumn, rather than the usual summer months due to the extreme heat in Qatar.

This is the last tournament in which 32 teams participate, as from the next World Cup in 2026, 48 national teams will start the competition.

In the final tournament of the 2018 World Cup, which was held in Russia, France became the champion, beating Croatia 4:2 in the decisive match.

Mexico National Team: Guillermo Ochoa, Jorge Sanchez, Hector Moreno, Cesar Montes, Jesus Gallardo, Edson Alvarez, Hector Herrera (Carlos Rodriguez, 71 min.), Luis Chavez, Irving Lozano, Enri Martin (Raul Jimenez, 71 min.), Alexis Vega (Urjels Antuna, 84th min.).

Poland national team: Wojciech Szczesny, Kamil Glik, Jakub Kivyor, Matty Kes, Bartosz Bereszynski, Gregor Krihowiak, Piotr ZeliƄski (Arkadyusz Milik, 88th min.), Sebastian Szymanskiy (Przemislav Frankowski, 72nd min.), Nikola Zalewski (Kristian Belik, 46th minute) min.), Jakub Kaminskis, Roberts Levandovskis.

Source: Diena.lv by www.diena.lv.

*The article has been translated based on the content of Diena.lv by www.diena.lv. If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!