Ivn Ramiro Sosa wins the Tour de La Provence, Phil Bauhaus the last stage

EsCiclismo.com · Road Competition · 02/14/2021

The Colombian cyclist Ivn Ramiro Sosa (Ineos Grenadiers) has won the sixth edition of the Tour de La Provence after maintaining the lead in the fourth and last stage, a 163.2 kilometer day held this Sunday between the French towns of Avignon and Salon -de-Provence.

Sosa, who reached the lead by winning alone in the third stage, overcame the last hurdle without complications to finish at the top of the podium in the French round. The box was completed by the French Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick Step), current Champion of the World, and the also Colombian Egan Bernal (Ineos Grenadiers).

Bernal lost second place in the general standings in favor of Alaphilippe, who took the necessary second in the bonus of an intermediate sprint to unseat the Colombian and finished 18 seconds behind Sosa.

The best Spaniard in the general classification was Jess Herrada (Cofidis), in the ninth final position, 58 seconds behind Ivan Ramiro Sosa.

Ivan Ramiro Sosa, born 23 years ago in the town of Pasca, succeeded his compatriot Nairo Quintana, winner in 2020, in the palm of the gala event.

On a new day marked by the cold, the last victory was taken by the German cyclist Phil Bauhaus (Bahrain-Victorious) ahead of the Italian Davide Ballerini (Deceuninck-Quick Step) and the French Nacer Bouhanni (Arka-Samsic), second and third respectively.

The escape of the day was carried out by the French Jrmy Leveau (Xelliss-Roubaix Lille Mtropole) and Tony Gallopin (Ag2r-Citron), the Spanish Llus Mas (Movistar) and the Norwegian Andreas Leknessund (Dsm). The quartet came to have 4 minutes of rent on the squad. With 47 kilometers from the end, the large group had reduced the lead at 2 minutes and ended up neutralizing the escapees 2 km from the finish line.

Classifications [Clasificaciones completas]

Stage classification:
1. Phil Bauhaus (GER/Bahrain-Victorious) – 3:47:01
2. Davide Ballerini (ITA / Deceuninck-Quick Step) – mt
Nacer Bouhanni (FRA / Arka-Samsic) – mt
4. Matteo Moschetti (ITA / Trek-Segafredo) – mt
5. John Degenkolb (GER / Lotto-Soudal) – mt
6. Bryan Coquard (FRA/B&B Hotels) – m.t.
7. Matthew Walls (GBR/Bora-Hansgrohe) – m.t.
8. Niccolo Bonifazio (ITA / Total-Direct Energie) – mt
9. Eduard-Michael Grosu (ROM/Delko) – m.t.
10. Alexander Kristoff (NOR/UAE Emirates) – m.t.

General classification:
1. Ivn Ramiro Sosa (COL / Ineos Grenadiers) – 17:21:00
2. Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick Step) a 0:18
3. Egan Bernal (COL/Ineos Grenadiers) a 0:19
4. Wouter Poels (NED / Bahrain-Victorious) at 0:39
5. Patrick Konrad (AUT / Bora-Hansgrohe) at 0:57
6. Bauke Mollema (NED / Trek-Segafredo) at 0:57
7. Jack Haig (AUS / Bahrain-Victorious) at 0:58
8. Mauri Vansevenant (BEL / Deceuninck-Quick Step) a 0:58
9. JESS HERRADA (Spa) Cofidis at 0:58
10. Aleksandr Vlasov (RUS / Astana-Premier Tech) and 0:58

EsCiclismo – All rights reserved. All types of reproduction are prohibited without express written authorization.

Source: Es Ciclismo .com by www.esciclismo.com.

*The article has been translated based on the content of Es Ciclismo .com by www.esciclismo.com. If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!