How to remove the Activation Lock from your iPhone

Activation Lock protects your data by preventing someone from using your iPhone in the event it is lost or stolen. But sometimes it causes problems for users who forget their password. Apple now makes it easier and we explain how to deactivate it.

Activation Lock

The Activation Lock has become a very useful tool when it comes to preventing theft of your iPhone, since it prevents anyone else who does not know your iCloud username and password from using your iPhone. Not only can you not unlock it, but you can not delete it either to enter your own account, and you can also locate it at any time, as long as it is turned on and with WiFi or data connectivity.

Activating it is very simple and is part of the automatic setup process when you start your iPhone for the first time, although you always have the possibility to do it from the Settings of your device, within your iCloud account in the “Search” section, activating the “Find my iPhone” option. To deactivate it, you will also have to enter your iCloud password, so if someone finds your device and manages to unlock it, they will not be able to deactivate this tool without your Apple password.

But, What if you forget your password and want to restore your device? Well, until now it meant having to contact Apple and get an employee to help you unlock it, which is not always an easy task. From today Apple has enabled a web page in which they guide you through the entire procedure step by step, even if you don’t think they will ask for little data. We explain step by step how to do it.

Requirements

For start the Activation Lock removal process you must click on this link which takes you directly to the Apple website. Once inside they give you two possibilities:

  • You know your account and password, which makes everything easier
  • You know your account but you forgot your password: they take you to the iForgot service where they will help you reset your password and create a new one. For this you must know the trusted phone numbers that you had configured and have access to them, among other things.

In the event that neither of these two options work for you, you must then go to the bottom of the web, and click on “Get Started”. This will initiate a removal request, which will need to check very carefully that the device is really yours, with very strict requirements:

  • You must show that the device is yours, and they will ask you for the serial number, IMEI or MEID
  • All your data will be deletedso use this option as a last resort
  • The device can’t be in lost mode or be managed by a company or educational institution
  • Once you start the process cannot be canceled
  • Apple may refuse to remove the lock if you think your request does not meet your requirements

To start the application you must enter your iCloud account, and as indicated in the requirements, the serial number, IME or MEID of your device. From there Apple will start the procedure and contact you through the email you have indicated, to make your iPhone functional again. After that You will be asked for other information such as the purchase invoice, the place where you purchased it or the date it was purchased. It may seem like a lot of data, but you must remember that Apple must be very clear that this iPhone is really yours because once the lock is removed it will be a “new” iPhone ready to use.



Source: Actualidad iPhone by feedproxy.google.com.

*The article has been translated based on the content of Actualidad iPhone by feedproxy.google.com. If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!