How to know if you’ve been blocked on Telegram, WhatsApp or Viber


Messengers have become an integral part of our lives. Most likely, instant messengers take up most of your time using a smartphone in principle, and they can only compete with video services like YouTube.

The fact that communication with other people occupies such an important place in our lives cannot but rejoice. Here you can grumble that, they say, this is not a live communication, but a miserable fake, but in fact this is not entirely true. Even when communicating in instant messengers by text or via audio-video communication, you experience the same emotions, and relationships with a person are also formed.

But even online communication cannot do without misunderstandings and quarrels. The result of a verbal skirmish may be a “black list”, in which you will enter your interlocutor – or maybe you will get yourself. Only there is a caveat: sometimes it’s not so easy to find out that you are on the “stop list” of another person.

Here we will tell you how to understand that you have been blocked in each of the most popular instant messengers: Telegram, Viber and WhatsApp.

1. Viber

The “purple” messenger has already passed the peak of its popularity in Russia, but many people still use it. Most often this is the older generation: parents, grandparents. And Viber is sometimes used in corporate communication and, willy-nilly, you have to keep it on your smartphone.

Note that if you are blacklisted, you will never know about it directly – unless the interlocutor himself informs you of this unfortunate fact. There will be no blocking notifications or bans on messages or calls in the chat. You can determine that the interlocutor has blocked you only by one single sign: messages are not delivered (one gray checkmark), although the person is “Online”. The status may not be displayed, but if the person obviously logs into Viber, and your messages are “Not delivered”, the conclusion is obvious. At the same time, your outgoing call inside Viber will always show “Call”, but the interlocutor will not even see it.

Blocking

In general, this decision is understandable: the absence of notifications about the blocking will help the one who blocked to avoid showdowns and clarifications on the part of the “blocked”. However, for the latter, this state of affairs is not entirely convenient.

blockable

By the way, you can also find out that you have been unblocked in only one way – periodically send a message. As soon as it is delivered, you are definitely “taken out of the closet.”

After unlocking

Keep in mind that the interlocutor will not receive any of your messages that you sent while in the block. At the same time, after exiting the block, they will be displayed for you as “delivered” and “read” – don’t let the two purple checkmarks mislead you. A person will receive only those messages that were sent outside the blocking.

2. WhatsApp

WhatsApp

WhatsApp gradually replaced Viber from Russian life and remains popular to this day. This messenger has become very famous thanks to the notorious “parent chats”. It also has no ads like Viber.

As for WhatsApp, the situation is similar here. The one who blocks receives a message that the blocked contact will no longer be able to send messages and make calls. But the victim of the blocking does not have any notifications.

Blocking

blockable

Messages just go “one way” – a dull gray tick with no hope of turning blue. With calls, the same story: just endless beeps, while the interlocutor will not have any notifications about the call.

After unlocking

After unlocking, WhatsApp behaves more correctly: “delivered” (two blue checkmarks) are marked only those messages that were sent outside the blocking. Accordingly, the interlocutor blocked in the past sees what exactly the blocker read and what did not reach him. So much clearer and calmer.

3. Telegram

Telegram

Pavel Durov’s messenger is rightfully considered a service of “young and progressive”. It is packed full of features and functionality, while combining the experience of a classic messenger with the role of an innovative newsfeed in channels. Telegram is actively gaining popularity and audience, in the Russian App Store it has been in first place in the Messengers category for some time.

Blocking

If you want to block someone, Telegram will warn you with a pop-up window – this person will not be able to message or call you on Telegram. At the same time, he himself is blocked and will not learn anything here; the chat will look absolutely normal, except for one thing: his messages will not receive more than one tick. In the case of calls, everything is more obvious here: the messenger will not create the appearance of work, but will immediately write “Call failed” and simply hang up the call.

blockable

By the way, Telegram (unlike WhatsApp and Viber) gives the “victim” two more bad signs: if the interlocutor has blocked you, then his status changes to “Been online for a long time” within a couple of minutes, and the avatar is hidden, even if earlier she was visible to you.

After unlocking, Telegram still shows the same error: a person who has come out of disgrace sees two checkmarks (“Delivered”) on all his previously sent messages, while the recipient will traditionally receive only those that were sent outside the block. At the same time, you (as a happy unlocked) again see the status “Online” and the avatar of the interlocutor.

After unlocking

small conclusion

Based on the above checks, some general conclusions can be drawn. You can find out if you are blocked:

  • on undelivered messages
  • by “endless” beeps when calling
  • in Telegram: according to the status “Online” and the avatar of the interlocutor.
At the same time, only WhatsApp correctly shows the status of sent messages during blocking (“Not delivered”), while Viber and Telegram falsely make it clear that all your “convulsions” during blocking were supposedly read by the interlocutor.

Source: iGuides.ru by www.iguides.ru.

*The article has been translated based on the content of iGuides.ru by www.iguides.ru. If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!