How to erase all computer data and settings in macOS Monterey. Preparing a Mac for Sale

Previously, the procedure for cleaning a Mac before selling or giving to another user looked like this. The owner of the computer was required to restart the Mac, start it in recovery mode, manually clear the system drive, and restore macOS.

With the release of macOS Monterey, Cupertinos added a built-in mechanism for cleaning the computer from user data and settings. Now everything works quickly and automatically. You will need to follow a simple sequence of actions.

📌 thanks re:Store for the helpful information. 👌

Things to Remember Before Erasing Data on a Mac with a T2 Chip

Mac computers with processors Intel In recent years, a special chip has been installed Apple T2… It is used for SSD encryption and OS boot control. If you have previously disabled Secure Boot using the T2 chip, for example, to start your Mac from an external drive, you will need to reset it.

If you have not previously changed the settings in this menu, you can proceed to the next section of the instructions.

Such models of Apple computers are equipped with a similar chip:

Mac mini (2018)
iMac Pro (2017)
iMac 27″ (2020)
Mac Pro (2019)
MacBook Air (2018-2020)
MacBook Pro (2018-2020)

To disable built-in protection and use the utility to reset your computer to factory settings, do the following:

► Start your Mac in recovery mode. To do this, turn off the computer and turn it on while holding down the keyboard shortcut Command (⌘) + R.

► At the authorization stage, select the required user and enter the administrator password.

► After booting in recovery mode, select MacOS Utilities – Utilities – Secure Boot Utility.

► In the menu that opens, activate the highest security level and confirm the action by entering the administrator password.

After that, the computer can be restarted and start erasing the content.

How to quickly erase all data in macOS

1. If the Mac was installed with Windows via BootCamp, you should delete any new partitions on your Mac’s built-in storage. To do this, use the same utility BootCamp to quickly erase Windows and combine logical partitions into one.

2. When there is only one macOS partition left on the Mac system storage, launch the application System settings and on the menu bar, select System Preferences – Erase Content and Preferences …

3. Log in to the running utility Erase assistant using the administrator password.

4. In the next step, the system will offer to create a new up-to-date backup. If you have already made a backup recently, you can skip this action.

5. Next, the erase assistant will show you what data will be deleted from the computer. Carefully familiarize ourselves with the list and press Proceed.

6. The system will ask you to sign out of your Apple account. We enter the password for the account and confirm the disconnection of the Mac from our ID.

7. The Mac will reboot and start erasing data.

8. After completing the procedure, the computer will restart again and you will be greeted by the startup assistant for activation and Mac settings.

As a result, you will get an absolutely clean computer without your parameters and user data. The Mac will be ready to be set up and used by another user.


Source: iPhones.ru — Новости высоких технологий, обзоры смартфонов, презентации Apple by www.iphones.ru.

*The article has been translated based on the content of iPhones.ru — Новости высоких технологий, обзоры смартфонов, презентации Apple by www.iphones.ru. If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!