How to erase a Mac without having to format the hard drive

This function allows you to erase all the contents, settings and apps from your Mac in a very short time.

The arrival of macOS Monterey has brought us many interesting news to the Mac, and one of them allows us erase the information stored on our Mac without having to format the device. This is something that has been present in iOS for a long time, and that is ideal when we are going to get rid of our computer.

Before selling or giving away our Mac, it is essential to erase all the information that it stores. Until now we had to format the hard drive and install macOS again, but that will no longer be necessary from macOS Monterey, something that will save us a lot of time.

Learn how to erase all content, settings and apps on your Mac

Thanks to this function you will be able to erase all content, settings and apps on your Mac and leave a completely clean macOS so that another user can configure it as fresh from the factory.

All you need is that you meet two requirements. First have macOS Monterey or a later version installed on the Mac, and second have a Mac with an Apple Silicon chip or an Intel Mac with a T2 security chip. This is the list of Macs with the T2 chip:

  • iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2020)
  • iMac Pro
  • Mac Pro (2019)
  • Mac Pro (rack, 2019)
  • Mac mini (2018)
  • MacBook Air (Retina, 13-inch, 2018, 2019, and 2020)
  • MacBook Pro (13-inch, 2019 and 2020)
  • MacBook Pro (13-inch, 2018 with four Thunderbolt 3 ports)
  • MacBook Pro (15-inch, 2018 and 2019)
  • MacBook Pro (16-inch, 2019)

Once you have verified that you have one of the compatible Macs, these are the steps to easily erase all content on your Mac:

  1. Slide the mouse to the Dock and click on System preferences.
  2. Now at the top, in the toolbar, click on System preferences.
  3. Select the second option: Delete content and settings.
  4. Enter the user password macOS.
  5. It will open to Delete wizard.
  6. The Mac will warn you of everything to be removed.
  7. Click Continue, enter the your Apple ID password and follow the steps.
clear content and settings Mac

The new macOS wipe wizard

Install macOS Monterey on any unsupported Mac easily

The Mac will proceed to erase and restart, once it does, all your information will have been erased and you can sell or give it away without fear. The Mac It will be as fresh as it left the factory and will be unlinked from your Apple ID. A much faster way to erase a Mac.

Related topics: Mac


Source: iPadizate by ipadizate.com.

*The article has been translated based on the content of iPadizate by ipadizate.com. If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!