GP Mexico 2021: Verstappen title victory

Max Verstappen with a triumphant appearance was the winner of this year’s race in Mexico City, as with the red lights off he managed to turn first in the first turn and since then he has not been threatened at any point of the race.


Thus, the Dutchman significantly increased his lead in the drivers’ standings from the main contender for the title, Lewis Hamilton, who did not have the car to be able to get more than the race.


The local hero, Sergio Perez, climbed to the third step of the podium, with the latter becoming the first Mexican driver to climb the Formula 1 podium in his home race. Perez tried hard for several laps at the end of the race to overtake Hamilton, but failed. This was Max Verstappen’s ninth this year and Mexico’s third at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez, with Hamilton now 19 points behind and four races left to finish the championship.

Valtteri Bottas’ joy for yesterday’s pole position did not last long, as Verstappen passed both Mercedes drivers from the outside in the first lap of the first lap. Daniel Ricciardo then kicked Bottas into the 2nd lap of the track, to be followed by an accident between Yuki Tsunoda and Mick Schumacher, who pulled out the safety car. This remained on the track until the 5th lap, with the restart not creating “dramas”.


The pace of the Verstappen with the middle tire was higher than that of Hamilton in the first stint. With the Briton losing time to the Dutchman and Perez, he entered the pits in the 30th lap to put the hard rubber, while Verstappen followed in the 34th lap, coming out second. At that point and for a few laps, Perez became the first Mexican to lead the home game.


Pierre Gasly finished in fourth place relatively comfortably, proving once again that he has the speed in both the qualifiers and the race. They were followed by two Ferrari drivers, with Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz in fifth and sixth place respectively, who, combined with the very poor performance of McLaren drivers, helped Ferrari move up to third place in the manufacturers’ championship.


Sebastian Vettel finished seventh for Aston Martin, ahead of Kimi Raikkonen, who finished 8th.


The top ten was completed by Fernando Alonso, who had a great fight – starting from 12th place, but a slow pit stop in the 40th round deprived him of the hope to claim something better. Lando Norris finished in 10th place, starting from 18th place.

7Race guide

He certainly would have preferred to be on the first step of the podium in the home race, but Sergio Perez came very close to climbing to the second, pushing Lewis Hamilton almost throughout the race, securing third place. This appearance was recognized and that is why he was voted as the leader of the race.


More specifically, Perez received 36.9% of the viewers’ votes. He was followed by Max Verstappen with 13.5% of the vote, Pierre Gasly with 7.4%, Lewis Hamilton with 6.5%, and Lando Norris with 5.9%

9Faster lap

Valtteri Bottas scored the fastest lap of the race, but will not score the extra point as he finished out of the top 10.


The Finn stopped the time at 1: 17,774, to be followed by Max Verstappen with 1: 18,999, Sergio Perez with 1: 19,468, Lewis Hamilton with 1: 19,820 and Carlos Sainz with 1: 20,081.

11Next match

After the race in Mexico, there is no break for a week, as Formula 1 is immediately transferred to Brazil and to the track of the Autódromo Jose Carlos Pace, in Sao Paulo. The Brazilian GP is scheduled for November 12-14.


Position Guide Club Time / Difference
1 Max Verstappen Red Bull Honda 1:38:39.086
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes +16,555 sec.
3 Sergio Perez Red Bull Honda +17,752 sec.
4 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri Honda +63,845 sec.
5 Charles Leclerc Ferrari +81,037 sec.
6 Carlos Sainz Ferrari +1 round
7 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin Mercedes +1 round
8 Kimi Raikkonen Alfa Romeo Ferrari +1 round
9 Fernando Alonso Alpine Renault +1 round
10 Lando Norris McLaren Mercedes +1 round
11 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo Ferrari +1 round
12 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren Mercedes +1 round
13 Esteban Ocon Alpine Renault +1 round
14 Lance Stroll Aston Martin Mercedes +2 rounds
15 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes +2 rounds
16 George Russell Williams Mercedes +2 rounds
17 Nicholas latifi Williams Mercedes +2 rounds
18 Nikita mazepin Haas Ferrari +3 rounds
NC Mick Schumacher Haas Ferrari He left
NC Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri Honda He left

13Driver Rating

Position Guide Club Degrees
1 Max Verstappen Red Bull Honda 312,5
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 293,5
3 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 185
4 Sergio Perez Red Bull Honda 165
5 Lando Norris McLaren Mercedes 150
6 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 138
7 Carlos Sainz Ferrari 130,5
8 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren Mercedes 105
9 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri Honda 86
10 Fernando Alonso Alpine Renault 60
11 Esteban Ocon Alpine Renault 46
12 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin Mercedes 42
13 Lance Stroll Aston Martin Mercedes 26
14 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri Honda 20
15 George Russell Williams Mercedes 16
16 Kimi Raikkonen Alfa Romeo Ferrari 10
17 Nicholas latifi Williams Mercedes 7
18 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo Ferrari 1
19 Mick Schumacher Haas Ferrari 0
20 Robert Kubica Alfa Romeo Ferrari 0
21 Nikita mazepin Haas Ferrari 0

14Manufacturers Rating

Position Club Degrees
1 Mercedes 478,5
2 Red Bull Honda 477,5
3 Ferrari 268,5
4 McLaren Mercedes 255
5 Alpine Renault 106
6 AlphaTauri Honda 106
7 Aston Martin Mercedes 68
8 Williams Mercedes 23
9 Alfa Romeo Ferrari 11
10 Haas Ferrari 0

Source: by

*The article has been translated based on the content of by If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!