Google will launch Drive for desktop. The current Backup and Sync solution will no longer work

Google Drive will have a dedicated desktop application this fall that syncs both files and photos from Google Photos albums. Thus, Google withdraws the not very successful solution, Backup and Sync.

Google is preparing a unified desktop client dedicated to synchronizing accounts on Windows and macOS PCs. Currently, there are two such synchronization applications. Google Drive File Stream for Business and Google Backup and Sync for Ordinary Consumers. That will change in the coming months, with Google replacing both applications with a unified solution – Google Drive for Desktop.

“Some of our Google Workspace customers have implemented both synchronization solutions, which can be confusing for end users and a challenge for IT department management. To address this, we intend to unify these synchronization clients later in 2021, bringing the most used features from both Drive File Stream and Backup and Sync to all our users. ”

What is certain is that not much will change in the administration of the accounts. In the first phase, Google will rename the Drive File Stream application in Google Drive for desktop, the change being operated starting with version 45 of the application. Subsequently, Google will migrate some Backup and Sync functions to the new application. Once both applications have equivalent functionality, the Backup and Sync application will be drawn to a dead end, with the remaining users being guided to the new Google Drive solution. Those who have Google Drive accounts for personal use have nothing to do, the notification for switching to the new application will appear later.

Meanwhile, the new application began to appear for some users, owners of Windows and Mac OS platforms, Google opting for a gradual transition, to avoid possible compatibility issues. For the rest, the migration process to the new application should end in September at the latest, those who do not install the new application risk being left with the option to automatically synchronize data with the cloud space, disabled.


Source: Go4IT by www.go4it.ro.

*The article has been translated based on the content of Go4IT by www.go4it.ro. If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!