Google Chrome will now alert you when you install untrusted developer extensions

Google has added new protection for users of Enhanced Safe Browsing in Chrome, which will alert them when installing untrusted extensions and allow them to request a more detailed scan of downloaded files.

Safe Browsing feature (Safe Browsing), available in Google Chrome since 2007, warns you of the dangers of visiting malicious websites (such as websites that try to steal your passwords, download malicious files) by checking URLs on the list of insecure websites stored in Chrome.

Enhanced Safe Browsing, available to Chrome users since May 2020, significantly increases protection against dangerous websites, downloads and extensions with proactive security measures and a password compromise warning.

“Since the first launch, we have been constantly working behind the scenes to improve real-time URL checking and apply machine learning models to alert to previously unknown attacks.” said Google.

“Enhanced Safe Browsing will now offer additional protection when you install a new extension from the Chrome Web Store,” Google said. “The dialog will let you know if the extension you intend to install is not part of the list of plugins that Enhanced Safe Browsing trusts.”

“Any extension made by a developer who adheres to the Chrome Web Store developer guidelines will be considered trusted by Enhanced Safe Browsing.”

New developers will need to build trust for at least a few months before they can be added to the list of trusted developers of Enhanced Safe Browsing.

Until then, add-ons published in the Chrome Web Store will be marked as untrusted and Chrome will notify users of what data they can access.

Although they start out as unreliable even though they comply with Google’s Chrome Web Store Developer Guidelines, all add-ons will be trusted over time.

Currently, almost 75% of all plugins from the Chrome Web Store are marked as trusted, and their number will grow as more developers gain trusted status.

Enhanced Safe Browsing has also been upgraded in the latest release of Google Chrome to provide even better protection against risky files downloaded from potentially malicious websites.

When a downloaded file is marked as unsafe, users are now offered the option to request a more detailed analysis.

“After a short wait, if Safe Browsing determines that the file is not secure, Chrome will display a warning. As always, you can bypass the alert and open it without scanning, ”said Google.

“If you decide to submit a file, Chrome will send it to Google Safe Browsing, which will scan it using its real-time static and dynamic analysis classifiers. Files sent are deleted from Safe Browsing shortly after scanning. ”

Photo: Google



Source: Informacija.rs by www.informacija.rs.

*The article has been translated based on the content of Informacija.rs by www.informacija.rs. If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!