Golf: McIlroy wins Tour Championship

Rory McIlroy clinched his third FedEx Cup title on Sunday by winning the Tour Championship in a big way, after managing to catch up with a six-stroke deficit and finally overtake world No.1 Scottie Scheffler.

The 33-year-old Northern Irishman, a four-time Major winner, claimed the $18million top prize at East Lake near Atlanta, beating the winner of the last Masters in one stroke. ‘Augusta, author Sunday of a catastrophic score of 73 after three laps yet perfectly conducted, as well as the South Korean Im Sung-jae.

“I think Scottie deserves at least half of this,” McIlroy said. “I feel a little bad for having capped him at the post.”

McIlroy, one of the main defenders of the American PGA Championship in the fight against the dissident Saudi-funded golf league LIV, said winning the trophy “means a lot” to him this year and that he “believes in this circuit”.

The scores after the fourth and final round of the East Lake Championship (par 70):

1. Rory McIlroy (NIR) -21 (67-67-63-66)

2. Im Sung-jae (KOR) -20 (67-65-66-66)

. Scottie Scheffler (USA) -20 (65-66-66-73)

4. Xander Schauffele (USA) -18 (66-63-70-69)

5. Max Homa (USA) -17 (71-62-66-66)

. Justin Thomas (USA) -17 (67-68-63-68)

7. Sepp Straka (AUT) -16 (68-68-64-68)

. Patrick Cantlay (USA) -16 (70-66-66-70)

9. Tony Finau (USA) -15 (72-66-67-64)

10. Tom Hoge (USA) -14 (66-66-66-69)

11. Joaquin Niemann (CHI) -13 (64-67-69-69)

Hideki Matsuyama (JPN) -13 (70-66-63-70)

13. Jordan Spieth (USA) -12 (68-68-69-65)

. Aaron Wise (USA) -12 (65-67-66-70)

15. Viktor Hovland (NOR) -11 (71-68-67-65)

. Matt Fitzpatrick (ENG) -11 (64-71-67-70)

. JT Poston (USA) -11 (65-69-66-69)

. Jon Rahm (ESP) -11 (67-63-71-71)

19. Cameron Young (USA) -10 (67-67-70-69)

20. Cameron Smith (AUS) -9 (67-71-68-69)

21. Brian Harman (USA) -8 (68-70-68-67)

. Billy Horschel (USA)-8 (68-70-66-69)

. Collin Morikawa (USA) -8 (66-69-65-73)

24. Sam Burns (USA) -7 (69-74-67-68)

25. Adam Scott (AUS) -4 (68-70-68-70)

26. Corey Conners (CAN) -3 (74-66-71-67)

27. Lee Kyoung-hoon (KOR) -1 (68-72-69-70)

28. Sahith Theegala (USA) +1 (71-72-67-71)

29. Scott Stallings (USA) +3 (70-74-69-73)

Source: Challenges en temps réel : accueil by

*The article has been translated based on the content of Challenges en temps réel : accueil by If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!