F1: Verstappen winner in Spain, Leclerc gave up


Max Verstappen won the race for the Spanish Grand Prix, while Leclerc gave up due to a power failure. Perez provided a double victory for Red Bull, and Russell took the last step on the podium in Mercedes.

The start of the race passed without major incidents, Leclerc kept the first place, while Sainz started the worst from the leaders and lost a couple of positions. Max followed Leclerc, but Ferrari acted really powerful in Leclerc’s hands, so it seemed as if Charles would win easily again. This was the conclusion when Max made a mistake in turn 4 and flew off the track for a short time, thus losing his position to Russell and Perez. Luckily for Max and Sainz, he made the same mistake a few laps before him, but with even more lost time, so that the other Ferrari driver did not endanger him. Mercedes had a good start, but Hamilton’s race was seriously compromised due to contact with Magnusen at the very start of the race. The current runner-up suggested via radio that they should give up in order to save the unit, but the team insisted on staying on the track because they guaranteed points.

Perez managed to catch up with Russell, but Verstappen also caught up with him, so Perez let him go, of course, but Max struggled a lot with Russell due to the “disobedient” DRS system. Max did not manage to overtake Russell, so he decided to box so as not to waste too much time, but Russell does the same. This leaves Perez in a “chase” for the Ferrari driver, but we did not see that scenario, Leclerc kept the pace and went to replace the tires in the 21st lap and has an almost 6s advantage over second-placed Russell who continues his excellent defense against Red Bull drivers. . Leclerc uses that and gains an advantage of 11s over Russell, until the infamous end of the race in the 27th lap. Leclerc reports the loss of strength via radio and immediately goes to the pits where he stays. Russell and Max continue the fight, now for the first place, and Max goes to replace the new tires in the 29th lap. Perez catches up with Russell and relatively easily bypasses him with the use of DRS. Max took second place after great laps and Russell went to boxing. Red Bull thus won the first two positions and now everyone is waiting for Red Bull to play that replacement of Max and Perez.

Perez goes to boxing with a 6s advantage over Max, Max does it a little later and returns 5s behind his club colleague, and the change of position takes place in the 49th round, with Perez complaining over the radio. Russell comfortably drove to third place and won the second podium this season for him, while the fourth to cross the finish line was Sainz who toured Hamilton due to technical problems of the runner-up. Hamilton did a great job and with good reason the team told him to stay in the race because he was smiling for points. With a long last stint, Botas kept the sixth place ahead of Okon and Norris. Alonso reached the ninth place from the last place, while Yuki Conoda took the last point.

With this victory, Max broke out on the first place in the general classification, and the next race will take place on the streets of Monaco, where the host will be Leclerc, who will do his best to reach the triumph.

The next race is on the program next weekend.

Spanish GP results:

1 1 Max Verstappen RED BULL RACING RBPT 66 1:37:20.475 25
2 11 Sergio Perez RED BULL RACING RBPT 66 +13.072s 19
3 63 George Russell MERCEDES 66 +32.927s 15
4 55 Carlos Sainz FERRARI 66 +45.208s 12
5 44 Lewis Hamilton MERCEDES 66 +54.534s 10
6 77 Valtteri Bottas ALFA ROMEO FERRARI 66 +59.976s 8
7 31 Esteban Ocon ALPINE RENAULT 66 +75.397s 6
8 4 Lando Norris MCLAREN MERCEDES 66 +83.235s 4
9 14 Fernando Alonso ALPINE RENAULT 65 +1 lap 2
10 22 Yuki Tsunoda ALPHATAURI RBPT 65 +1 lap 1
11 5 Sebastian Vettel ASTON MARTIN ARAMCO MERCEDES 65 +1 lap 0
12 3 Daniel Ricciardo MCLAREN MERCEDES 65 +1 lap 0
13 10 Pierre gasly ALPHATAURI RBPT 65 +1 lap 0
14 47 Mick Schumacher HAAS FERRARI 65 +1 lap 0
15 18 Lance Stroll ASTON MARTIN ARAMCO MERCEDES 65 +1 lap 0
16 6 Nicholas Latifi WILLIAMS MERCEDES 64 +2 laps 0
17 20 Kevin Magnussen HAAS FERRARI 64 +2 laps 0
18 23 Alexander Albon WILLIAMS MERCEDES 64 +2 laps 0
NC 16 Charles Leclerc FERRARI 27 DNF 0

Source: Nacionalna Klasa by www.nacionalnaklasa.com.

*The article has been translated based on the content of Nacionalna Klasa by www.nacionalnaklasa.com. If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!