F1: Perez winner in Singapore


Sergio Perez won another victory in this year’s F1 season. Leclerc crossed the finish line second, while Sainz in Ferrari completed the podium.

The start of the race was postponed by an hour due to bad weather conditions, more precisely due to the rain that hit the track and it was not possible to start the race at the planned time. After an hour’s delay, the race got under way and all drivers started on mixed weather tyres. Perez did the best at the start, immediately overtaking Leclerc for the first place in the race, and the start itself passed without incident. Sainz also started well and overtook Hamilton for third place at the very start of the race. The race in Singapore has always guaranteed a safety car, so this was the case this year as well. Due to the contact between Žuo and Latifi, the Alfa driver remained parked in the exit zone, which meant the activation of the safety vehicle. The contact happened in the eighth lap and the epilogue was the withdrawal of both drivers who were involved in the incident, and the culprit was Latifi, who after the race received a penalty for the start of the next race. The race continued, and none of the drivers dared to switch to dry tires.

Perez built his advantage with solidly faster laps than Leclerc and by lap 20 the lead was 2s. The advantage stopped growing with the activation of the virtual safety vehicle that was in effect due to the car of Fernando Alonso, who finished his 350th race prematurely due to an engine failure. It was Russell who made the first move and switched to pictures, which turned out to be a mistake. The track was relatively dry on some sections of the track on the ideal path, but warming up those tires was a multi-lap process where a lot of time was lost, with Russell losing up to 7s per lap until he could set a time that he could match. the times the others were setting on worn green Pirelli tires. Two more periods under the virtual safety vehicle followed, one due to Albo’s contact with the trackside barrier and leaving the front wing at the point of contact, and the second due to the breakdown of another Alpine. Behind the leaders, there was a fight between Hamilton and Sainz, and Hamilton, in his desire to overtake the Ferrari driver, made a mistake, blocked the wheels and came into contact with the fence and slightly damaged the front wing. Lewis still manages to get back on the track and continue the race, but in the end he only managed to finish in ninth place, while Russell remained without points, so the Singapore Grand Prix is ​​a race to forget in Mercedes.

Drivers slowly began to switch to dry tires, and Tsunoda was among the first in that group. Switching to these tires almost guaranteed that one of the drivers would overdo it and make a mistake, and it was Tsunoda who made a mistake on the 36th lap and hit the barrier next to the track. The last exit of the safety car could have cost the victory to Perez, who at the end of the race received a penalty for not keeping the prescribed distance behind the safety car, but Perez’s excellent driving after the restart made him a sufficient advantage that the 5s penalty did not affect his victory. Verstappen was trying to overtake Norris and on that occasion he also made a mistake and extended into the exit zone, fortunately for him there was no contact, but Max only lost a couple of positions and in the end had to settle for seventh place. True, at the very end he had an excellent maneuver and passed Vettel, who finished the race in eighth place. The McLaren drivers had an excellent race, crossing the finish line fourth and fifth, thus overtaking Alpina in the team standings. Stroll had a good race and crossed the finish line in sixth place, while the last point in Singapore went to Gasly in the Alfa Tauri.

The next race is in Japan in seven days.

VN Singapura results:

1 11 Sergio Perez RED BULL RACING RBPT 59 2:02:20.238 25
2 16 Charles Leclerc FERRARI 59 +2.595s 18
3 55 Carlos Sainz FERRARI 59 +10.305s 15
4 4 Lando Norris McLaren Mercedes 59 +21.133s 12
5 3 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren Mercedes 59 +53.282s 10
6 18 Lance Stroll ASTON MARTIN ARAMCO MERCEDES 59 +56.330s 8
7 1 Max Verstappen RED BULL RACING RBPT 59 +58.825s 6
8 5 Sebastian Vettel ASTON MARTIN ARAMCO MERCEDES 59 +60.032s 4
9 44 Lewis Hamilton MERCEDES 59 +61.515s 2
10 10 Pierre gasly ALPHATAURI RBPT 59 +69.576s 1
11 77 Valtteri Bottas ALFA ROMEO FERRARI 59 +88.844s 0
12 20 Kevin Magnussen HAAS FERRARI 59 +92.610s 0
13 47 Mick Schumacher HAAS FERRARI 58 +1 lap 0
14 63 George Russell MERCEDES 57 +2 laps 0
NC 22 Yuki Tsunoda ALPHATAURI RBPT 34 DNF 0
NC 31 Esteban Ocon ALPINE RENAULT 26 DNF 0
NC 23 Alexander Albon WILLIAMS MERCEDES 25 DNF 0
NC 14 Fernando Alonso ALPINE RENAULT 20 DNF 0

Source: Nacionalna Klasa by www.nacionalnaklasa.com.

*The article has been translated based on the content of Nacionalna Klasa by www.nacionalnaklasa.com. If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!