Brazil, UAE, Albania, Gabon and Ghana elected to Security Council

Brazil, the United Arab Emirates, Albania, Gabon and Ghana were elected new members of the Security Council for 2022 and 2023 by the UN General Assembly on Friday, arrivals that could cause headaches for the five permanent members of the body. , according to diplomats. Their two-year term begins on January 1, 2022.

“Brazil and the United Arab Emirates have clearly defined positions in foreign policy, and Albania, which will be a member of the Council for the first time in its history, is also a member of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OCI),” said a diplomat who asked not to be named. The future entry of these countries to succeed St. Vincent and the Grenadines in January, Vietnam and Estonia, will change the balance of power in the Council, he predicts.

“This will change things,” said another diplomat, who also asked not to be named. “Brazil is a power in itself,” will succeed the smallest country that has ever served in the Council. As for the Emirates, “they have a role to play in several conflicts,” he added, implying Yemen or Libya.

In January, Gabon and Ghana will also take over the positions currently held by Niger and Tunisia.

During the vote, the 193 members of the United Nations were invited to vote. Brazil received 181 votes, the Emirates 179, Albania 175, Gabon 183 and Ghana 185. Following the withdrawal of the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Chad, none of these five seats had enough candidates.

To ensure geographical representation, the seats are divided into regional groups. However, even if the candidates have no rival in their group, they must secure the support of more than two-thirds of the UN General Assembly. For years, regional groups have been accustomed to nominating candidates for their respective positions in order to avoid fratricidal rivalries.

With up to five members on the Security Council in recent years, the European Union is in danger of losing its influence as it will have only two members in January, France and Ireland.

The Security Council has 15 members in total, of which five permanent members have a veto (US, China, Russia, France, Britain) and ten non-permanent members are renewed by half each year. It is the only UN body that can take legally binding decisions such as imposing sanctions and authorizing the use of military force.

Sources: AMPE, AFP, Reuters, dpa

Source: by

*The article has been translated based on the content of by If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!