Australian football players celebrate the victory over Tunisia in the final game of the World Cup / Diena

In the 23rd minute, after Craig Goodwin’s cross from the left side, after ricocheting against the Tunisian, Mitchell Duke headed the ball into the right corner of the goal – 1:0 for Australia.

Already during the half-time compensation, the best chance to score a goal in the half was for the Tunisians. After a pass on the ground from the right side, Yusef Msakni hit the ball just wide of the right corner of the goal.

In the 72nd minute, Msakni was again at the forefront of the attack for Tunisians, who, running into the penalty area on the left side, aimed the ball at the left corner of the net, but Matthew Ryan was in his place in the goal, saving the ball.

In the 88th minute, Vaabi Hazri shot from the penalty area, but the shot was not powerful, and the ball flew over the goalkeeper Ryan, who caught it.

Australia and Tunisia had previously met once, in the 2005 FIFA Confederations Cup, the Tunisian footballers proved to be superior. The Australians started this World Cup with a setback against champions France, losing 1-4, while Tunisia ended their first match against Denmark with a goalless draw.

Nathaniel Atkinson was unable to help Australia in the second game after picking up an injury against France, while the Tunisians had all their players in the line-up.

France and Denmark will compete in the second group match on Saturday at 18:00.

Poland and Saudi Arabia will play a match in group C at 3 p.m., while Argentina will play against Mexico at 9 p.m. The final tournament is broadcast live by Latvian Television Channel 7.

32 teams are divided into eight groups of four national teams each. The two best teams from each group will enter the round of 16 and continue the fight for football’s most prestigious trophy.

Qatar is the first Arab country to host the FIFA World Cup. So far, one championship has been held in Asia, and it was jointly hosted by South Korea and Japan in 2002.

This is also the first tournament to be held in late autumn, rather than the usual summer months due to the extreme heat in Qatar.

This is the last tournament in which 32 teams participate, as from the next World Cup in 2026, 48 national teams will start the competition.

In the final tournament of the 2018 World Cup, which was held in Russia, France became the champion, beating Croatia 4:2 in the decisive match.

Australia squad: Matthew Ryan (Capt.); Ky Rowles, Fran Karacic (Milos Degenek, 75 min.), Aziz Behic, Harry Soutar; Matthew Leckie (Kianu Backus, 85 min.), Aaron Mooy, Jackson Irvine, Craig Godwin (Aver Mabil, 85 min.); Riley McGree (Aijdin Hrustic, 64 min.), Mitchell Duke (James McLaren, 64 min.).

Tunisia national team: Aymen Damen; Montasar Talbi, Yasin Meria, Dylan Bron (Vajdi Kehrida, 73 min.); Aisa Laiduni (Vābi Hazri, 67 min.), Eljes Shiri, Muhamed Dreger (Ferhani Sassi, 46 min.), Ali Abdi; Yusef Msakni (capt.), Isam Dzhebali (Taha Yasine Henisi, 73 min.), Naims Sliti.

Source: by

*The article has been translated based on the content of by If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!