A. in Rangamati. League mayoral candidate wins

Photo: Daily Rights

Awami League candidate and incumbent mayor Akbar Hossain Chowdhury has won the Rangamati municipality election by a huge margin. He was elected unofficially with 22,601 votes for the boat symbol. His closest rival, the BNP. Mamunur Rashid received 7,935 votes for the top symbol of paddy.

Senior District Election Officer and Returning Officer Jahedul Islam announced the results after counting the votes on Sunday (February 14th).

In this municipal election 5 people contested for the post of mayor. Councilors Josna Begum (1, 2 and 3), Nirmala Dewan (4, 5 and 6) and Zubaitun Nahar (6, 7 and 9) won the reserved women’s seat. The councilors who won the general ward are- Md. Helal Uddin (Ward No. 1), Karim Akbar (Ward No. 2), Pulak Dey (Ward No. 3), Md. Nurunnabi (Ward 4), Baching Marma (Ward 5), Ravi Mohan Chakma (Ward 7), Jamal Uddin (Ward 7), Kalayan Chakma (Ward 7) and Santosh Kumar Chakma (Ward 9).

The names of the remaining reserved women councilors were not available at the time of writing.

Source: ODHIKAR by www.odhikar.news.

*The article has been translated based on the content of ODHIKAR by www.odhikar.news. If there is any problem regarding the content, copyright, please leave a report below the article. We will try to process as quickly as possible to protect the rights of the author. Thank you very much!

*We just want readers to access information more quickly and easily with other multilingual content, instead of information only available in a certain language.

*We always respect the copyright of the content of the author and always include the original link of the source article.If the author disagrees, just leave the report below the article, the article will be edited or deleted at the request of the author. Thanks very much! Best regards!